We Know Exactly How To Defend Your DUI
DUI cases in Las Vegas are not all the same. Even if your breathalyzer or blood test came back over the limit, there are often many issues an experienced DUI lawyer can use to get the charges reduced – or even dismissed. Call us to schedule a free case evaluation with one of our experienced staff members. We can consult over the phone, or we can sit down with you at our office right across the street from the courthouse. ATAC Law defense team has helped thousands of clients have their DUI charges reduced or dismissed altogether, and keep their driving privileges intact. If you are charged with DUI the penalty increases with the number of convictions you have.
Nevada DUI law forbids prosecutors from dismissing or reducing drunk driving charges unless there is insufficient evidence to secure a conviction. Therefore, defendants need aggressive Las Vegas DUI attorneys and trial lawyers to investigate every detail to weaken the state’s case. And the fact is that prosecutors are more likely to negotiate a good plea deal when an experienced DUI defense lawyer represents the defendant.
First Time DUI
The typical penalties for a first offense of drunk driving as a misdemeanor are:
- $600 to $1,000 in fines plus court costs;
- 8-hour DUI School (which can usually be done online);
- Attendance at a Victim Impact Panel (such as MADD);
- 2 days to 6 months in jail time and
- A 185-day driver’s license revocation
If the defendant’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.18% or greater, the defendant will also have to submit to an alcohol/drug dependency evaluation, do rehab, and drive with an ignition interlock device (IID) for one-to-three years.
If convicted of a second-time DUI within a seven-year period is also a Nevada misdemeanor, but there is a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 10 days. The full sentence includes:
- $750 to $1,000 in fines plus court costs;
- 12-hour DUI School;
- Victim Impact Panel attendance;
- 10 days to 6 months in jail (or house arrest);
- 1-year license revocation; and
- Possibly a one-year court-ordered substance abuse program
If the defendant’s BAC is 0.18% or greater, the defendant will also have to install an ignition interlock device in his/her vehicle for one to three years and pay for all associated costs.
Third DUI Offense
If convicted of a third-time DUI in a seven-year time span is an automatic category B felony in Nevada. The punishments include:
- 1 to 6 years in prison;
- $2,000 to $5,000 in fines plus court costs;
- 1 to 3 years of using an ignition interlock device, plus paying all associated costs; and
- 3-year license revocation
But it may be possible to avoid prison by having the right DUI Lawyer in Las Vegas.
Is A DUI a Felony?
There are three circumstances where driving under the influence is a felony in Nevada, and each carries a different prison sentence:
- The defendant had two DUIs in the prior seven years, punishable by 1 to 6 years in prison; or
- The incident results in death or substantial bodily harm, punishable by 2 to 20 years in prison; or
- The defendant has a prior felony DUI conviction, punishable by 2 to 15 years in prison
DUI Lawyer, Las Vegas
Learn More about DUI Charges & Laws
We write weekly articles to help you learn about Nevada Law. Here are our posts about DUIs: