If you have been convicted of a DUI in Nevada, you may be wondering how it will affect your auto insurance. There are two main ways that a DUI conviction can impact your insurance:

Insurance companies will likely consider you a high-risk driver and increase your premiums or refuse to renew your coverage altogether.
You will need to obtain an SR22 before you can reinstate your license, and you must keep the SR22 for three years.
Here’s what you need to know about DUIs and auto insurance in Nevada:

Does a Nevada DUI Conviction Affect Your Car Insurance Rates

1. How much will your insurance premiums go up after a DUI?

Auto insurance providers in Nevada may increase your premiums by as much as 50% or more following a DUI conviction, regardless of whether it was your first DUI or how low your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was. To find the best rates after a DUI, you may want to consult with an insurance agent from the Nevada Insurance Department. Currently, State Farm offers the lowest post-DUI liability insurance rates.

2. Do you need an SR22?

Nevada law requires that you obtain an SR22 as a condition of reinstating your driver’s license following a DUI conviction. An SR22 is a document that shows proof of financial responsibility and indicates that you have at least the minimum coverage required by Nevada law:

$25,000 bodily injury or death of one person.
$50,000 bodily injury or death of more than one person.
$20,000 injury or damage to the property of others.
If you have a non-Nevada driver’s license, you may still require an SR22 to reinstate your license, depending on your state’s requirements.

3. How long do you need to maintain SR22 insurance?

Nevada law mandates that you maintain SR22 insurance for three years as a condition of reinstating your license following a DUI conviction. If you let your auto insurance policy lapse at any time during the three-year period, you will lose all credit for the time you maintained the SR22 insurance.

4. Do you need an SR22 if you don’t have a car?

Yes, if you don’t have a car, you will need to obtain a non-owner SR22 policy in order to reinstate your driving privileges following a DUI conviction.

5. What other costs are associated with a DUI conviction?

Aside from increased insurance premiums and the cost of an SR22, a DUI conviction in Nevada can also result in additional costs, including:

Impound fees (which can be $30 a day plus the initial towing fee)
License reinstatement fees ($120 plus a $35 victim impact fee)
An ignition interlock device (which costs about $150 to install and another $100 per month to maintain)
DUI criminal fines (up to $1,000 plus court costs for misdemeanors)
DUI school fees (usually $100 for first-time offenders)

In addition to these costs, a DUI conviction can also have long-term effects on your criminal record and your driving record.

If you have been charged with a DUI in Nevada, it’s important to speak with an experienced Las Vegas DUI attorney to learn more about your options for defending your case.


Do you need a DUI attorney in Las Vegas?

If You’re Facing Charges, We’re Here To Help.


ATAC LAW LOGO GOLDCall us for help

We have answers for you

To learn more about DUI  in Las Vegas and how to get your DUI charge dismissed or to discuss a particular criminal case that you or someone you love is facing, Call ATAC Law firm for help to get your charges reduced or dismissed.

 Contact us for a FREE phone meeting to discuss your case with what people are calling the best criminal defense attorney in Las Vegas.

At ATAC, our Las Vegas team of lawyers is here to work with you to help you through your case.