The Nevada Sex Offender Registry is a database that contains the information for Nevada residents as well as visitors to the area who have been convicted of crimes that had a sexual component or were sexual in nature or were crimes against children. A conviction of certain sex crimes n Nevada required the individual to register.
What are sex offenses in Nevada?
In the state of Nevada, a sex crime can be anything from unwanted touching to indecent exposure or flashing to rape. Under Nevada law, any misdemeanor or felony that has a sexual component automatically qualifies to be classified as a sex crime.
Common sex offenses include:
- Rape (sexual assault)
- Open or gross lewdness
- Sex between secondary school employees and students
- Child sex abuse
- Indecent exposure
- Capturing the image of the private area of another person
- Statutory rape
- Sexually motivated coercion
- Child pornography
- Teen sexting
- Lewdness with a child younger than 16
- Sex between college employees and students
- Sex trafficking
- Failure to register as a sex offender
This is not a comprehensive list of sex offenses, but it does show the broad scope of the classification.
Do all felons have to register in Nevada?
Under Nevada law, all convicted sex offenders must register with local law enforcement within 48 hours of arrival in Nevada. Anyone who has been convicted of two or more felonies is required to register with the local authorities no matter the nature of the offense. If a person only has one nonviolent conviction, they do not have to register. If the person fails to register they could be arrested.
Do all sex offenders go on the register?
Under Nevada law, any person who has been convicted of a crime that has a sexual component is labeled a sex offender and is put on the sex offender registry. This includes sex crimes in person and on the internet.
Sex offenders are required by law to register with their local law enforcement within three days of the date they were convicted of the sex offense or when they are released from jail or prison. If the person does not go and sign the register, they could be charged with another criminal offense and it could result in jail time.
What restrictions do sex offenders have to comply with in Nevada?
A sex offender in Nevada must register with the sex offender registry for 15 years. They must also personally appear at their local police department one time a year. Depending on the tier under which the offender is classified, they could be searchable on the internet.
As a sex offender in Nevada, the individual may not be able to work in certain industries, live in certain areas, or go to certain places. They may be restricted from being around children or other requirements depending on the specifics of their case.
Can you get off the sex offender registry in Nevada?
Even if an individual is eligible to have their name removed from the Nevada sex offender registry, it will not be removed automatically. A person may be able to be relieved of their obligation to register by filing a petition for early termination. This petition is filed with the district court.
The court will then schedule a hearing on the petition. At the hearing, the petitioner may present evidence and even witnesses to support their case. If the court determines that there is sufficient evidence to meet the requirements for early termination, the judge will issue an order absolving the petitioner of their duty to register as a Nevada sex offender.
What crimes require sex offender registration in Nevada?
These crimes, including a conspiracy to commit the crime or an attempt to commit the crime, are sex offenses in which those convicted of these crimes are required by law to register for the sex offender registry:
- Abuse of a child when the abuse involved sexual exploitation or sexual abuse
- Administration of a controlled substance to another person with the intent to assist or enable the commission of a crime that is listed here
- Administration of a controlled substance to another person with the intent to assist or enable the commission of a felony that is listed here
- Battery with the intent to commit sexual assault
- Obscene or indecent exposure
- Lewdness with a child
- Luring a mentally ill person or a child (felony)
- Murder in the first degree when it is committed in the attempted perpetration or perpetration of sexual abuse, sexual assault, or sexual molestation of a child who is younger than 14 years old
- Gross or open lewdness
- Pornography of a minor
- Sexually assault
- Sexually motivated offense
- Sexual penetration of a dead human body
- Solicitation of a minor to engage in acts that constitute a crime against nature
- Statutory sexual seduction
- Out of state offenses – An offense that is committed in a different jurisdiction but would, under Nevada law, be an offense listed here
Do you need a Sex Crime Attorney in Las Vegas?
If You’re Facing Sex Offense Crime Charges, We’re Here To Help.
Call us for help
Have you been falsely accused of a sex crime?
“How do you beat a sex offense charge in Nevada?”
“Is it possible to be removed from the sex offenders registry?”
We have answers for you
To learn more about sex crimes laws in Las Vegas and how to get your self defense charge dismissed or to discuss a particular criminal case that you or someone you love is facing, Call ATAC Law firm for help to get your charges reduced or dismissed.
Contact us for a FREE phone meeting to discuss your case with what people are calling the best criminal defense attorney in Las Vegas.
At ATAC, our Las Vegas team of lawyers is here to work with you to help you through your case.