The Nevada sex offender laws cover a variety of sex offenses and crimes against children. Many of these crimes require that a person who is convicted to sign up on the Nevada Sex Offender Registry, a database of individuals who have committed sex crimes.
If you have been charged with a sex crime, it is important that you understand what the law has to say. It is also important that you have an attorney because things can go south pretty quickly. However, having solid, experienced representation could help you get a reduced sentence or even throw out your case completely.
In This Article:
- What are the sex offender laws in Nevada?
- What are the Nevada sex offender registration requirements?
- What are the sex offender tiers in Nevada?
- Is it possible to be removed from the registry?
What are the sex offender laws in Nevada?
Under CHAPTER 179D – REGISTRATION OF SEX OFFENDERS AND OFFENDERS CONVICTED OF A CRIME AGAINST A CHILD these are the sex crimes that require those convicted to register with the Nevada Sex Offender Registry.
- NRS 200.508 Abuse, neglect or endangerment of child: Penalties; definitions.
- NRS 200.408 Administration of controlled substance to aid commission of crime of violence: Penalty; definitions.
- NRS 200.405 Administration of drug to aid commission of felony: Penalty.
- NRS 200.400 Definition; penalties.
- NRS 201.220 Indecent or obscene exposure; penalty.
- NRS 201.180 Incest: Definition; penalty.
- NRS 201.230 Lewdness with child under 16 years; penalties.
- NRS 201.560 Definitions; exceptions; penalties.
- NRS 200.030 Degrees of murder; penalties.
- NRS 201.210 Open or gross lewdness; penalty.
- NRS 200.710 Unlawful to use minor in producing pornography or as subject of sexual portrayal in performance.
- NRS 200.730 Possession of visual presentation depicting sexual conduct of person under 16 years of age unlawful; penalties.
- NRS 200.366 Sexual assault: Definition; penalties; exclusions.
- NRS 175.547 Notice of intent to request hearing; time of hearing; evidence; court to enter finding; “sexually motivated” defined.
- NRS 207.193 Coercion: Hearing to determine whether sexually motivated.
- NRS 201.450 Unlawful act; penalty.
- NRS 201.195 Solicitation of a minor
- NRS 200.368 Statutory sexual seduction: Penalties.
- Out of State Offenses – If an individual commits an offense in another jurisdiction that would be an offense requiring registration in Nevada, then the individual must register.
What are the Nevada sex offender registration requirements?
A convicted sex offender in Nevada has several requirements that they must comply with when they are ordered to register for the sex offender database. Any violations can incur felony charges against the offender.
Within 48 hours of release, the offender must register with the local sheriff’s office or police. At that time, the offender will be fingerprinted, submit palm prints, and a DNA sample will be obtained.
Anytime the offender has any changes, the local police must be informed within 48 hours. Changes to be reported include:
- Student status
They must report a visit of fewer than 30 days and inform local police when they are in an area for 30 days or more.
They must submit a verification form annually. All offenders are also required to renew their driver’s licenses every year.
They must appear in person at a local police station per the terms of their tier assignment.
What are the sex offender tiers in Nevada?
Nevada classifies sex offenders according to tiers. These tiers are arranged according to the severity of the sex crime.
- Tier III sex offender – The most serious offenses which include non-parental kidnapping, violent sex crimes, serious crimes involving children (particularly young children), any sex crime where the victim was murdered
- Lifetime registry
- Renew registration every 90 days
- Tier II sex offender – This is for offenses that involve crimes against children which include sexual abuse of a child at least 13, child pornography, sex trafficking, false imprisonment of a child, incest if the victim is 16 or 17
- 25-year registry
- Renew registration every 180 days
- Tier I sex offender – This is for non-violent sex offenses which include sexual seduction when the defendant is younger than 21, administering drugs to someone when committing a violent crime or felony, indecent exposure, sexual penetration of a human corpse, any offense that involves sexual conduct or a sex act with someone else
- 15-year registry
- Renew registration every year
Is it possible to be removed from the registry?
In some cases a Nevada sex offender may be eligible for early termination from the sex offender registry:
- Level 1 offender
- Has registered for 10 consecutive years or more
- Level II offender
- Not eligible for early termination
- Level III offender
- Has registered for 25 consecutive years or more, and
- The underlying offense was a juvenile delinquency
There are four requirements that Tier I and Tier III offenders must meet:
- No felony convictions or other crime that has the potential penalty of 1 year or more in prison
- No convictions of any other sex crime
- Has completed any periods of parole, probation, supervised release
- Has completed a Nevada certified treatment program for sex offenders or is certified by the Attorney General of the United States
Early termination of registration requirements requires the person to file a petition in the local district court – it is not automatic. The court will then hold a hearing to determine whether or not to grant the petition.
Early termination does not restore gun rights or seal the criminal record and the offender must still disclose the crime as a past conviction on housing and job applications.
If you have been charged with a sex offense, you need experienced, knowledgeable legal representation now. Call ATAC Law Firm and make sure your rights are protected.
Do you need a Sex Crime Attorney in Las Vegas?
If You’re Facing Sex Crime Charges, We’re Here To Help.
Call us for help
“How do you beat a sex offense charge in Nevada?”
“Is it possible to be removed from the sex offenders registry?”
We have answers for you
To learn more about sex crimes laws in Las Vegas and how to get your self defense charge dismissed or to discuss a particular criminal case that you or someone you love is facing, Call ATAC Law firm for help to get your charges reduced or dismissed.
Contact us for a FREE phone meeting to discuss your case with what people are calling the best criminal defense attorney in Las Vegas.
At ATAC, our Las Vegas team of lawyers is here to work with you to help you through your case.