What self defense weapons are legal in Nevada?
In a perfect world, we would never have to face threats of harm from others, But this world is not perfect and sometimes bad people do bad things.
Sometimes self-defense is necessary.
When you are the victim of assault and battery, attempted murder, battery domestic violence, or attempted rape, you want to be able to protect yourself. What do you do?
What self-defense weapons are legal in Nevada?
What constitutes self-defense in Nevada?
Under Nevada law, self-defense in a situation is allowed and legal as long as it meets two conditions:
- The person who was defending themselves reasonably believed that there was an immediate threat of danger or harm by the aggressor
- The person defending himself or herself may not use more force than is necessary to stop or repel the threat that the aggressor poses
If you are defending yourself or someone else from bodily harm, self-defense is allowed.
Is Nevada a stand your ground state?
Nevada is a stand your ground state. If a person is attacked or has a reasonable belief that they are in immediate threat of harm by the aggressor, the law requires no duty of the person who is in danger to retreat before mortally wounding the person in self-defense.
It is legal to kill in self-defense when the person who is defending themselves:
- Is not the person who was the original aggressor
- Has a right to be in the area where they use deadly force
- Is not engaging in or participating in illegal or criminal activity
Read More about Stand Your Ground Laws in Nevada
Is it legal to carry pepper spray in Nevada?
Pepper spray is legal to buy, ship, own, and carry in all 50 states. Some jurisdictions do have certain limits, but for the most part, you can have pepper spray and use it as a weapon for self-defense. However, there are some restrictions:
- It is illegal for minors to possess pepper spray
- The maximum size container of pepper spray that a person can own is two ounces
Pepper spray also goes by the names MACE and bear spray. They are all the same product, just packaged differently.
It is legal to have pepper spray on a key chain or on your person. It may deter a criminal who wishes to do you harm, but it is not as effective as other weapons.
Are collapsible batons legal in Nevada?
Collapsible batons as well as other similar weapons are not legal to carry in Nevada. Some of these illegal weapons include:
- Nunchakus (nunchucks) – two batons attached by a short chain or rope, commonly used in martial arts
- Brass knuckles
- Billies or Billy clubs
- Throwing stars
- Collapsible batons
If you get caught possessing or carrying any of these weapons it can have harsh legal consequences. For instance, possession of brass knuckles can mean as many as 364 days in jail and fines of up to $2,000.
What length knife is legal in Nevada?
Different jurisdictions have different requirements for blade length, but it is best to either check with that particular jurisdiction or err on the side of caution. The laws of Clark County, which include Las Vegas, make it illegal to conceal carry a knife with a blade that is more than three inches long, All other knives are to be open carried. The only exception to this law is if the individual has a current, valid, sheriff issued concealed carry firearm permit (CCW) that is knife-specific.
For open carry of a knife, Clark County law says the blade can’t be longer than three inches while the State of Nevada says it can’t be longer than two inches. In cases like this, it is best to go with the shorter blade, just to be on the safe side.
What self defense weapons can be carried in Nevada?
Nevada does allow the carry of certain weapons, but some of the specifics written into some city and county laws may differ from the state statute. This is the case with knives. When that happens, it is best to err on the side of caution.
The self-protection devices that are allowed in Nevada are:
- Stun gun
- Pepper spray (legal in all 50 states – for the most part)
- Knives (note the blade restrictions)
Nevada is an open carry state. This means that you may carry your weapon, but it must be in plain view.
If you are traveling to Nevada or Las Vegas and want to bring your weapon, you should first check with the Transportation Safety Administration to make sure that you can check the items in your luggage. If you are visiting the area and staying at a hotel, you should also check with it to make sure it is OK for you to be armed while on their premises.
Do you need a Self Defense Attorney in Las Vegas?
If You’re Facing Charges, We’re Here To Help.
Call us for help
“How do you beat a self defense charge in Nevada?”
“When is use of force permitted for self defense?”
What self defense weapons are legal in Las Vegas?
If you needed use of force during an act of self defense, and are now facing charges:
We have answers for you
To learn more about self defense charges in Las Vegas and how to get your self defense charge dismissed or to discuss a particular criminal case that you or someone you love is facing, Call ATAC Law firm for help to get your charges reduced or dismissed.
Contact us for a FREE phone meeting to discuss your case with what people are calling the best criminal defense attorney in Las Vegas.
At ATAC, our Las Vegas team of lawyers is here to work with you to help you through your case.