Sex crimes are taken very seriously in Nevada and prosecutors will often press hard for the harshest punishments possible. The sex offender registry is included in the sentence for all convicted sex offenders.

This registry divides offenders who have been convicted of sex crimes into three tiers. Tier I is the least serious class, Tier II is the second most serious and is also for crimes against children, while Tier III is for violent sex offenders and serious crimes that involve children.

While the guidelines that are set forth by the state are clear, they still leave some unanswered questions.


What are Sex Offenders Required to Do Once They Register?

There are specific guidelines set forth by the state regarding registered sex offenders and what they are required to do to maintain their good standing on the registry – as opposed to violating the guidelines and getting arrested.

  • Each tier is required to register for a specific duration:
    • Tier I – 15 years
    • Tier II – 25 years
    • Tier III – Life
  • Register with your local police department. They will take your fingerprints and get a DNA sample.
  • When you have a change to your address, name, or place of employment, you have 48 hours to inform your local police department of that change.
  • When you are in a location that exceeds 30 days after you have reported a visit that is less than 30 days in the same location you must inform the local police department.
  • Submit an annual verification report.
  • Appear in person at your local police station according to your tier’s schedule:
    • Tier I – Report annually
    • Tier II – Report every 180 days
    • Tier III – Report every 90 days
Close-up of fingerprints on paper sex offense registration
Sex Offenders register with your local police department. They will take your fingerprints and get a DNA sample.

Are There Residency Restrictions for Sex Offenders in Nevada?

Most registered sex offenders can move within Nevada and even within the United States or internationally. However, if their probation or parole prohibits it, they must comply with those terms.

If they move to a new location within Nevada, they must comply with the sex registry laws of the state. This means appearing in person at the local police department to register and provide a DNA sample and fingerprints. This must be completed within 48 hours of moving to the new location.

If they are moving within the United States, they will need to comply with the sex registry laws of that state. This will likely include appearing in person at the police station as well as other requirements.

Those who move out of the country will need to be very careful to comply with the laws of the area where they are moving.

In all circumstances, it is very important to follow the law. This will ensure that they stay compliant.


Can a sex Offender be Around Their Own Children?

If a registered sex offender is also a parent and the crime they committed was not against a child, they could be allowed to be around their own children. If the parents are not together, the registered sex offender may file for custody or unsupervised visitation, but it will be up to the judge to decide what is best for the children.

In most cases, there is what is called a rebuttal presumption that placing the children with them or allowing unsupervised visitation is not in the children’s best interest.

This means that the judge automatically presumes this to be true, but he or she will hear evidence presented by the sex offender parent to try and prove that is not true. This is also true if the person seeking custody is not a registered sex offender but lives with one.


Can a Registered Sex Offender Visit Las Vegas?

A sex offender can visit Las Vegas, but they are legally required to physically appear before local law enforcement in Las Vegas within 48 hours of arriving in the city. They must register with law enforcement as a visitor and the registry will show that they are visiting the area, how long they will be staying, and where they are staying.


Can a Sex Offender get off the Registry in Nevada?

There are different rules for different tiers regarding getting off the Nevada Sex Offender Registry:

  • Tier I offenders are only required to register for 15 years but in some cases, they may be able to get off after 10 years
  • Tier II offenders are never eligible to get off the registry early.
  • Tier III offenders must register for life, but in some cases, they may be able to get off after 25 years.




Do you need a Sex Crime Attorney in Las Vegas?

If You’re Facing Sex Offense Crime Charges, We’re Here To Help.


ATAC LAW LOGO GOLDCall us for help


Have you been falsely accused of a sex crime?

“How do you beat a sex offense charge in Nevada?”

Is it possible to be removed from the sex offenders registry?”

We have answers for you

To learn more about sex crimes laws in Las Vegas and how to get your self defense charge dismissed or to discuss a particular criminal case that you or someone you love is facing, Call ATAC Law firm for help to get your charges reduced or dismissed.

 Contact us for a FREE phone meeting to discuss your case with what people are calling the best criminal defense attorney in Las Vegas.

At ATAC, our Las Vegas team of lawyers is here to work with you to help you through your case.